Day 42- Best Smoothie Ever & Leg Day

4.26.16

With breakfast this morning I HAD to put my new blender to the test (and like I mentioned in yesterdays post, it’s amazing) so I made a Blueberry Spinach Smoothie! Honestly it was so good I was almost shocked- I was thinking maybe i’d have to add some stevia or something to it but it was perfectly sweet and delicious on it’s own!

IMG_4812 - Edited

To make the smoothie I used:

  • 70g blueberries
  • 50 ml unsweetened almond milk
  • 20g vanilla protein powder
  • 10g white chocolate peanut butter
  • 50g banana
  • 50g plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 25g baby spinach
  • Juice from a whole lemon
  • 4g fiber powder
  • 2-3 ice cubes

Yes I measure everything out by weight, it’s much more accurate when tracking! Get yo self a food scale! 😛 But you can really just put whatever amounts you want of everything into your smoothie and i’m sure it will still come out bomb.

FYST9760

IMG_4816 - Edited

Of course I still had to have my eggs, bacon, and oatmeal.

Then I spent some time prepping food for the week: slow cooker teriyaki chicken with stir fry vegetables, hard boiled eggs, and roasted chick peas.

IMG_4833 - Edited

Recipe here. (I omitted the honey from the recipe)

IMG_4842 - Edited

IMG_4849 - Edited.jpg

Roasted chick peas are seriously delicious. And their fun to snack on or add to meals! I forgot to take a picture right after I cooked them when they look best. Here they are after being in the fridge for almost 24hrs. But trust me they are amazing. Simply drain a can of chick peas and rinse under cold water for 10 seconds, pat dry with paper towels, place on baking sheet, sprinkle with olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and bake for 15 minutes in a 400 degree oven stirring them halfway through! Those are just the seasonings I used but you can use whatever you want.

Later the boyfriend and I headed over to SNAP Fitness for leg day (my favorite). It felt great to get under a squat rack and use a leg press! We also did some calve exercises, lying hamstring curls, hyperextensions with glute and hamstring focus, abductor machine, and 3 ab exercises.

When we got home of course I had to have some protein pancakes. I’m still having these almost on the daily. I used to have a protein shake after the gym but honestly I never really enjoyed them and I was always forcing myself to finish it! Making the protein pancake is a much better way to get my protein shake in- just 1 scoop of protein powder mixed with 1 egg, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and water to thin. Then topped with walden farms zero calorie pancake syrup. Same as a shake plus some extra protein from the egg (or egg whites if you don’t want the fat) but much more appetizing!

IMG_4835 - Edited

No more shakes for me! Go kick some butt today ❤

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-119-D668595E518A268DD58F2E56C0B57E31

4 thoughts on “Day 42- Best Smoothie Ever & Leg Day

    • Samantha says:

      I was trying to remember what you put on yours but I don’t have that many spices anyway 😊 I thought you put cumin on too?

      Like

Leave a Reply

