Day 26- Chest, Shoulders, & Brownies

4.10.16

I had the best workout today in awhile. My boyfriend and I did 4 chest exercises and 4 or 5 shoulder exercises. It was great and boy am I sore today. I always have a better workout when I go with a workout buddy who is focused and ready to push me. I end up trying heavier weight and doing more reps than if I had went alone.

My boyfriend was the one who introduced me to the gym and has been lifting for yearss before I ever even met him. He has so much knowledge in the gym and always brings that intensity to our workouts that makes you want to lift 200 lbs and smash through a wall. Haha okay not really but he knows how to have a good workout. It’s all business when we go in there, music blasting and motivation pouring.

If you really want to have good workouts find yourself a gym buddy and push each other! I can have some good workouts on my own but i’ll tend to go easier on myself, just because I can.

I wrote this post on my Instagram but wanted to share it on here as well because it is very important. Words from the master himself, Arnold:

“The last 3 or 4 reps is what makes the muscle grow. This area of pain divides the champion from someone who is not a champion. That’s what most people lack, having the guts to go on and just say they’ll go through the pain no matter what happens.” -Arnold


I’ve been making sure once I start feeling like the pain is too much and I can’t do anymore to do at least 2 more reps. And I can (usually) always get those 2, or more. It’s amazing how much more you can do than you thought if you just push past the mental pain. I believe that’s where true results lie. If you always stop once the burn becomes unbearable you’ll never get anywhere, you have to continue to push past it.

That is where results are made and champions are born. I try to keep that in mind during every workout. If it could be done without pushing past that pain then everyone would be walking around jacked. It takes that person that keeps going after the point where everyone else thinks to stop to truly do something great. So next time you’re in the gym and your muscles are on fire telling you to stop, do 2 more reps, then 3, then 4.

Now of course if your in actual pain like something feels wrong in the muscle then STOP. That is not what Arnold means. He does not mean go out there and injure yourself. Proper form is always most important, that is why the weight section is surrounded by mirrors, for us to constantly check our form and make sure we’re not going to hurt ourselves (and to check out our gainzzz … :P).

IMG_4264 - Edited (1)

Now onto the brownies … I tried this recipe I found for 5 ingredient protein brownies. Pretty good! I want to adjust the recipe in the future however to make it my own and make it even better. I’m going to be trying a lot more protein recipes on my own so wish me luck that I actually succeed in some haha 😉

Recipe for 5 ingredient protein brownies:

IMG_4260 - Edited

  • 2 large (about 200 grams) very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup (60 grams) cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup (70 grams) unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 heaping scoop (35-40 grams) protein powder (vanilla or chocolate)
  • 2 tablespoons (30 grams) chocolate chips

I also added 2 packets of truvia after tasting the batter and it seeming a little bitter. But with just these ingredients and the truvia the brownies were still great!

One tip I can offer however is that this does not make much batter and you definitely want to use a loaf pan or a more narrow pan for baking. I didn’t realize and put them in a brownie pan and they came out very thin, which was fine but I think we all want our brownies with a little more to them.

Mix all of the ingredients together except for the chocolate chips (original recipe says to puree in food processor, I just don’t have one) and then place in baking pan and sprinkle chocolate chips on top. It then instructs to put in a 350 degree oven for a few minutes, take them back out and use the back of a spoon to spread around the melted chocolate chips, then place back in oven for 20 minutes. However after this step I only placed them back in for 8 minutes and they were completely done. This was because I made mine super thin but if you use the right pan you will need more time. Just make sure to keep checking on them. You want them to look a little under done when you take them out, don’t worry they will finish cooking.

They were gooood and they are currently all gone

IMG_4267 - Edited

Stats for one brownie: 68 calories, 12g carbs, 2g fat, 5g protein

I ate one after lunch and one after dinner:

IMG_4284 - Edited

Hope you all have a good one!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-119-D668595E518A268DD58F2E56C0B57E31

IMG_4268 - Edited

P.s. how cute is this little cuddle bug!?

6 thoughts on “Day 26- Chest, Shoulders, & Brownies

  1. Bhanu says:

    So you on the way towards being the Unstoppable !
    Every day you inspire with your persistence and I wonder when I will be able to gain so much persistence about something that I want to do with myself. There have been times, when I have been on streak, just waiting for the next one ! Good going Samantha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samantha says:

      Thank you so much Bhanu! All I hope comes from these daily posts is to inspire and motivate others to work hard and offer tips and tricks along the way! You’ll get there when you’re ready just keep thinking about it 🙂 If you find something that works for you and that you love doing it will stick and stay for the long term instead of in streaks! If you start doing something and you hate it, it’s not for you, try different things until you find something that sticks!

      Like

  2. Lori says:

    I just made the brownies and they are delicious! I made them exactly as the recipe said except I omitted the chocolate chips. I will definitely double the batter next time to make them thicker. Thanks for the post

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samantha says:

      They are delicious glad you liked them! Yeah it does not make enough batter so you either have to double it (not a bad idea considering how good they are) or use a more narrow pan! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

