Day 18- My First Texas BBQ

4.2.16

Actually, my first real BBQ ever. What is wrong with me? I used to be so closed minded with food only eating the foods I liked and never trying anything new. I had convinced myself I didn’t like those foods without even trying them. Make any sense? Didn’t think so.

But when my boyfriend and I started dating he would take me out to eat and he started to see that there was little I would order or try and he really helped me branch out. And let me say I have loved 99% of the foods I have tried that I spent years thinking I didn’t like.

Just to name a few:

  • Fish- I wouldn’t eat any fish except canned tuna before, now I love salmon, red snapper, cod, ahi tuna, crab, scallops, and more!
  • Sushi- I don’t even want to talk about it. I wasted so much time.
  • Avocados (& Guacamole)
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Pineapple
  • Egg yolk- that’s right I would only eat the whites unless they were all scrambled together.
  • Red Wine
  • Onions & mushrooms- I’m still working on these but I’m definitely a lot better than I was.
  • I’ve even tried octopus! Wasn’t bad but not much flavor.

And that’s just to name a few, needless to say it is one of the many reasons I’m grateful for him lol. And now I can add to the list: BBQ!

But before we get to that I want to share how I start off my day when I know I’m going to be indulging later on. I always keep it light in the morning. Not less food, just lower carb and higher protein. The meal I started off with was protein pancakes, egg whites, and 1 slice turkey bacon ( 6 carb, 3 fat, 46 protein). Since I know my meal later will be carb and fat heavy this helps me balance things out.

IMG_3788 - Edited (1)

IMG_3789 - Edited

OOTD 😉

By the time we left we were hungry again so we brought some snacks- I had half this protein bar (my favorite) and this Monster which was so good: Pink Lemonade.

IMG_3793

We spent the day around Dallas again (had to pick up a few more things for the apartment) and when lunch time rolled around the boyfriend suggested BBQ. I was nervous at first that I wasn’t going to like anything and I was on the verge of being hangry but I decided I needed to give it a try. As we were walking up to the restaurant I immediately had a change of heart and started to get very excited- the smells were amazingg! They were smoking the meat right there! We had to wait in line for about half an hour but I didn’t mind because I could tell it’d be worth it. We struck up a conversation with the guy in front of us which helped the time go by. When we got to the front of the line we told them what we wanted and the amount. They cut it and weighed it then put it on a big silver try and handed it to us- prepare for your mouth to water. I played it safe and got the chicken which was a mistake- don’t get me wrong the chicken was great but my boyfriend got the brisket and pulled pork- unbelievable. Luckily he was nice enough to share with me :). Their homemade BBQ sauce and sides were also delicious. It was a great experience and a ton of fun, I can’t wait to go back and try more! Plus they had free dessert- we got some ice cream 🙂

IMG_3804

IMG_3799

BBQ chicken, fried okra, and broccoli slaw

IMG_3803

Brisket, pulled pork, mashed potatoes, and corn

Nedless to say I did not track this day or workout, just had fun and enjoyed the day. We also went to Costco and got a ton of food to meal prep for the week (coming in the next post). We didn’t get home until late and we were beat! I think I had peanut butter toast and ice cream for dinner haha.

Go try something new today, you won’t regret it!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-119-D668595E518A268DD58F2E56C0B57E31

 

Leave a Reply

