Flexible Dieting Snacks

IMG_3058 - Edited

If you’re new to Flexible Dieting or IIFYM here are a few of my snacks I currently have in my apartment to keep my diet* interesting and tasty 🙂

These snacks are very “macro friendly” and a healthier way to indulge (
in my opinion). From left to right:

  • Chobani Fat-Free Plain Greek Yogurt- I like to buy the plain fat free version and then flavor it myself. Some ideas I have done in the past are adding cereal, WF zero calorie pancake syrup, and strawberries, melted peanut butter and chocolate chips, a chopped up protein bar and banana slices, or just Stevia drops. Be creative and see what you like.
  • Skippy All Natural Creamy Peanut Butter- I love peanut butter. I will melt it and put it on anything. Normally I would have the Peanut Butter Co. White Chocolate Peanut Butter but they didn’t have that one at my store 😦
  • Skinny Girl Pop Corn (Butter & Salt and Lime & Sea Salt)- This is a newer discovery and the Lime edition is amazing, such a fresh different approach to the classic buttery popcorn. They come in Mini bags which is prefect because if you give me a whole bag of popcorn I will eat the entire thing, I dare you to tell me not to.
  • Pure Protein Protein Bars- I have a lot of favorite protein bars (quest, FIT Crucnh, think thin, & more) but these were the ones they had in bulk at Costco. Still one of my favorites. I love the chocolate chip, peanut butter chocolate, s’mores, and caramel peanut butter flavors!
  • Rice Cakes- Low fat, lower carb, and low protein. Basically a volume food. Great for the end of the day when you barely have any macros left but are craving something to eat! I love the chocolate flavor- it has little mini chocolate chips in it that just melt in your mouth- so good.
  • Walden Farms Pancake Syrup- I’ve talked about this is a past post- Zero everything but tastes just like maple syrup (maybe better). Perfect for adding flavor/sweetening things up. I put it in my oatmeal, yogurt, on top of pancakes/waffles, and in mixes when I’m baking something.
  • Skinny Cow Ice Cream Sandwiches- For when your sweet tooth hits and you have to have something real. Low in fat and not a crazy amount of carbs/sugar. Delicious.
  • Crystal Light/Mio drops- When you need some flavor or are craving something sweet but don’t want to eat something unhealthy. I’ll just mix a packet with 32 oz of water and that satisfies my sweet tooth. I know the crystal light isn’t the best option since it contains aspartame, but i’ll have it every once in awhile or switch it out for Mio drops or an all natural brand.

Hope this helps anyone! Don’t cut out any of your favorite foods from your diet, just eat them in moderation or find “healthier” alternatives. But also don’t force yourself to eat any of these foods. Some days i’ll be like “I totally have room in my macros for a skinny cow or a piece of chocolate”, but I actually don’t even want to eat any of those foods. So i’ll have some fruit or nuts to finish up my macros instead. It’s not like you have to eat these foods to be a flexible dieter. Just eat how you feel that day – flexible dieting means whatever you want it to.

*I say “diet” but every thing I post on here is not me on a “diet”. I do not believe in diets. This is just the way I eat, and plan to eat for the foreseeable future. It is my lifestyle and how I choose to eat. If you start a “diet” you are going to fail, because a diet is not something you can stick to for the rest of your life; therefore once you come off of the diet and go back to your normal way of eating you will just gain all the weight back and ruin any progress you previously made. The only way to have long-term success and maintain your results is if you change your lifestyle and the way you eat for good. Have fun and enjoy the way you eat, however you choose to do that, whether it be counting your macros, intuitive eating, eating clean, etc. There are many different ways to lead a healthy lifestyle, this is just my way. Choose one that works best for you, gets you excited, isn’t a chore, and doesn’t cause any unhealthy thoughts or disorders in your mind. 🙂

One thought on “Flexible Dieting Snacks

Leave a Reply

